Bookmarks

My current read, The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes, has sat on my shelf untouched since June 2020 thanks to several reading slumps and my recent obsession with checking out library books.

The Hunger Games series enthralled me back in high school and was one of my inspirations when I started writing my own dystopian novel/series.

Also, I genuinely think they did a great job with the movies, Mockingjay (Part 2) being my favorite. So, of course, it was the trailer for the adaption of the prequel that actually pushed me to dive back into this series.

And what better bookmark to use for such a beloved book/series…than a coupon.

All my actual bookmarks are busy marking my place in the handful of books I’ve stopped and started over the past few years. This has been an ongoing occurrence that leads me on occasion to consider buying more. However, unlike my self-control when it comes to books,

Funny enough, I’ve used receipts as bookmarks in most of the books I’ve started AND finished within a reasonable time lately. Not sure if there’s a correlation there or if I’ve just hit a good reading and book-choosing stride.

My progress with The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes has been steady the past couple of weeks (1 point for receipts/coupons perhaps). Still, further research will be required for more conclusive results.

Q: What’s your favorite item to use in place of a traditional bookmark?

Happy Reading!

C. R. Pigg

P.S. If you didn’t see my last post, I recently published the first book in my YA/NA sapphic fantasy series, Witches of Welkin! Available now on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Apple Books, & Kobo/Kobo Plus!

Leave a comment